Calmac website search form

Timetable Consultations

Timetable Consultations FAQs

Caledonian MacBrayne are required to consult twice-yearly with communities on changes to timetables. We do this around June each year for the following year's summer timetable, and around November each year for the following year's winter timetable.   

Is there any criteria for requested timetable changes? 

Any changes to timetables must meet the following criteria: 

  • Must be operationally feasible​​ 

  • Cost neutral​​ 

  • Current vessel deployment​​ 

  • Does not impact on another route​​ 

  • Complies with Fatigue Management P​​lan 

What is the timetable consultation process for?   

We use the process to assess changes to the timetable, including requests for additional sailings. It is not a process where we can consider non-timetable related matters, such as vessel deployment. 

Who do you carry out consultations with and how are these done? 

For each route across the network we consult with the nominated Ferry Committee/Community Council or Elected representatives. Each nominated group carries out consultation with their local community and then submits a consolidated request for any changes requested. 

I'm not part of one of the nominated groups. How can I suggest changes to the timetable? 

We are required to consult with the nominated groups, so all suggested changes or requests must be submitted via them.  

I want to make a suggestion on a change to an existing timetable, how can I get in contact with my local nominated Ferry Committee/Community Council/Elected Representative? 

Please see the list below for your local contact: 


Nominated Group  

Contact Details 

Ardrossan - Brodick 

Arran Ferry Committee  

Ardrossan - Campbeltown 

Campbeltown Ferry Committee  

Kennacraig - Islay  

Islay Ferry Committee  

Colonsay - Oban/Kennacraig 

Colonsay Community Council  

Oban - Lismore  

Lismore Community Council  

Oban - Coll - Tiree  

Coll Community Council  

Tiree Community Council  

Oban - Craignure  

Mull and Iona Ferry Committee  

Oban - Castlebay 

Comhairle nan Eilean Siar  

Mallaig - Armadale 

Sleat Transport Forum  

Mallaig - Small Isles  

Small Isles Community Council  

Mallaig - Lochboisdale  

Comhairle nan Eilean Siar  

Ardmhor - Eriskay  

Comhairle nan Eilean Siar  

Berneray - Leverburgh 

Comhairle nan Eilean Siar  

Uig - Tarbert/Lochmaddy 

Comhairle nan Eilean Siar  

Ullapool - Stornoway  

Comhairle nan Eilean Siar  

Gourock - Dunoon 

Cowal Transport Forum

Colintraive - Rhubodach 

Bute Ferry Committee  

Tarbert LF - Portavadie 

Cowal Transport Forum

Gourock - Kilcreggan 

Kilcreggan & Cove Community Council 

Fishnish - Lochaline 

Mull and Iona Ferry Committee  

Gallanach - Kerrera 

Kerrera Ferry Committee  

Tobermory - Kilchoan 

Mull and Iona Ferry Committee  

West Ardnamurchan Community Council  

Tayinloan - Gigha 

Gigha Community Council  

Sconser - Raasay 

Raasay Community Council  

Claonaig - Lochranza 

Arran Ferry Committee  

Wemyss Bay - Rothesay 

Bute Ferry Committee  

Largs - Cumbrae 

Cumbrae Ferry Users Group  

List for Timetable Consultations

Close Don't show again